THE DIVERSITY OF MY THOUGHTS

The Day A Coward Ripped Off My Peaceful Morning

In Automotive on February 5, 2009 at 8:49 pm

This morning, when I was on my way to the office, just when I was about to make a final turn to the office’s premises, my bike was hit from the back. One thing that I hated most about the incident was, it was hit and run. I have always been more than just being cautious before making any turns anywhere since I’m fully aware that a bike is much more destructive than a car does. When you’re on a bike, one simple hit can throw you few meters away. Higher speed will surely throw you even farther with even more serious damages. I remember my dad used to say that even when a person is highly-alarmed or cautious about his or her safety, danger may occur, ironically, from the outside. This means that even when you are careful, accidents may still happen because often times other people are not careful enough.

Based on the statistics, below are the top causes of motorcycle accidents:

  1. Approximately three-fourths of these motorcycle accidents involved collision with another vehicle, which was most often a passenger automobile.
  2. The failure of motorists to detect and recognize motorcycles in traffic is the predominating cause of motorcycle accidents. The driver of the other vehicle involved in collision with the motorcycle did not see the motorcycle before the collision, or did not see the motorcycle until too late to avoid the collision. 
  3. One fourth of these accidents were single accidents involving the motorcycle colliding with the roadway or some fixed objects in the environment.
  4. Vehicle failure accounted for less than 3% of these motorcycle accidents, and most of those were single vehicle accidents where control was lost due to a direct hit, overbraking, loss control due to excessive speed or under cornering.
  5. Approximately 2% of the accidents were the cause of roadway defects or weather such as rain or slippery road because of aquaplanning or oil-spill.
  6. Loss of traction or control due to tire-puncture.

I believe that the cause of this morning’s collision were number 2 (although not entirely) I had looked through the rear view that the road was okay, traffic was a bit heavy but the lane from the opposite direction was clear. I remember giving a right signal turn as well as a single wave of the right hand before entering the premises. When suddenly a bike hit me from behind, I just didn’t know where it came from, my best assumption was this bike just escaped from among the crowd. The other cause would be number 4 (a direct hit from behind). This bike was probably trying to make use of the gap between the line of cars and my bike’s rear wheel, too bad, the miscalculation threw me off my bike a few meters away. I landed on my right knee even though the jeans were ripped on both knees. Unfortunately the biker got away after a few seconds of swerving around. I was too busy noticing the traffic, fearing of getting another hit by a passing vehicle. I stood up and walked towards the office in pain.

However, I am glad that the choice of my riding gear this morning really paid off. I have always liked wearing my short leather gloves but somehow I chose to wear the long ones. I was going to wear my army-look fabric pants but then again I chose to wear jeans. I also decided to wear my steel-toes safety shoes instead of the usual ones. I couldn’t help thinking how bad had it been if I didn’t wear what I wore this morning. The above statistics also mention that most of the accidents occur in familiar circumstances or places you visit regularly such as office or home.

Tonight is the night when all the pain and muscles stiffness are beginning to take effect, a normal reaction after having been bruised and battered on the hot asphalt. To be honest, I will never forget what had happened nor do I want to forgive this biker who had fled so cowardly. May you rest in peace..(should I say ‘pieces’?). Let what had happened today be a valuable lesson that we have to be extra careful wherever we are.

  1. ride safe bro! take care

  2. Glad you’re OK, though. Let it go, Ky! What goes around ALWAYS comes back around. (from a hit-and-run victim to another)

  3. Thank you, Susi. I kinda need it. That was a quite shock since I have never violated the traffic or ‘vandalize’ other road users but look what had happened to me? Lol

  4. @Yudhis, thanks a lot bro, I always do, hari itu aja yang kena musibah, semoga itu yang pertama dan terakhir.

  5. semoga cepat sembuh… udah mas, nggak usah disumpahin.

  6. Iya terima kasih varda, Gusti Allah Maha Adil kok…

  7. Glad you’re ok. Sucks it was another bike that took you out, though. How can we expect cars to see us if we don’t see each other?

  8. Thank you for your comment, I couldn’t seem to agree more with your statement. I spend my life riding my bike peacefully, offering help to those in need, especially fellow bikers but somehow this incident was like a violent stab in my back. Hopefully we, bikers, could stand for one another more.

Leave a Reply

